Georgia Press Educational Foundation

The Georgia Press Educational Foundation Inc. is a nonprofit, tax-exempt foundation established in 1963 to provide financial assistance to students studying journalism at colleges and universities throughout the state.

Thanks to the Centennial Campaign in 1986, GPEF increaseed the sponsorship for foundation programs. Since GPEF began granting scholarships to students in 1966, the foundation has awarded in excess of $550,000. Since 1994, GPEF has provided more than 150 Georgia newspapers with grants to hire a paid summer intern through the Billy Watson Internship Program.

Scholarships awarded for 2017-18

Seven Georgians studying journalism at colleges and universities in the state were awarded scholarships for the 2017-18 academic year by Georgia Press Educational Foundation. Congratulations to these students for their efforts:

Eric Denty, University of Georgia, Charles Morris Scholarship

Kelsey Dickerson, Valdosta State University, GPEF Scholarship

Kayla Dungee, Georgia State University, Otis A. Brumby II Scholarship

Darla Dunning, Valdosta State University, GPEF Scholarship

Adelia Henderson, Mercer University, GPEF Scholarship

Makinizi Hoover, University of Georgia, William C. Rogers Scholarship

Emily Rose Thorne, Mercer University, Durwood McAlister Scholarship


Internship grants awarded to 15 GPA members

A group of 15 students is getting valuable experience in the newspaper industry as they explore careers in journalism through the GPEF Billy Watson Internship Program. Each was hired by a member publication of Georgia Press Association for an eight-week internship going on now. Could your newspaper use an internship grant in the coming months? Contact Sean Ireland at Georgia Press Association for more information on the program!



Susan Catron, chairman, Savannah Morning News

Rick Harris, vice chairman

Scott Buffington, GPA president, The Jackson Herald, Jefferson

Jason Cuevas, Georgia Power Co.

Sherrie Marshall, The Telegraph, Macon

Eric NeSmith, Community Newspapers Inc.

Tom Parker, Georgia Transmission Corp.

Robin Rhodes, Georgia Press Association

Carvy Snell, The Metter Advertiser

Bo Spalding, Jackson Spalding

Terri Statham, Georgia Electric Membership Corp.

Jim Wooten, retired, The Atlanta Journal